Highly-Rated DUI Defense Attorneys in Hauppauge, New York
Providing sound guidance if you’ve been charged with drunk driving
When you’re arrested for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, commonly called driving under the influence, DUI, or driving while intoxicated (DWI) in New York, you may face jail time, large fines, probation, community service and the suspension of your driver license. Reynolds, Caronia, Gianelli & La Pinta, P.C. has served clients throughout Long Islandsince 1982. We know how to handle matters related to drunk driving, leveraging our knowledge of the law and giving you the personal attention you need during a difficult time in your life.
DUI and DWAI issues in New York
There are several stages of intoxication recognized by New York courts in relation to drunk driving offenses:
- DWAI: This stands for driving while ability impaired, and it can occur at blood alcohol content (BAC) levels lower than you may expect. At BAC between .05-.07, New York motorists may be arrested and issued a fine of $300 to $500, and serve up to 15 days in jail for a first offense. For drivers 21 years of age and older, this comes with a possible 90-day suspension of your license. Drivers under the age of 21 face a full year suspension, or a license suspension until the driver attains the age of 21, whichever time period is longer.
- DWI: For this offense, there are a few different ways in which you may be charged. Drivers with a BAC of .08 or higher, drivers who are impaired by a drug or drivers who are driving while ability impaired and are also under the influence of a drug may be arrested for DWI. This comes with a fine of $500 to $1,000, and a possible jail sentence of one year for a first offense. In addition, drivers over the age of 21 can receive a six-month revocation of their licenses. Drivers under 21 will receive a mandatory one-year suspension or a suspension up until their 21st birthday.
- AGG-DWI: This stands for aggravated driving while intoxicated, and it may carry a fine of $1,000-$5,000 for a first offense. Drivers convicted of AGG-DWI stand to receive one year in prison and a minimum one-year revocation of their licenses. The same applies for drivers under the age of 21.
- REFUSAL TO SUBMIT TO A CHEMICAL BLOOD / ALCOHOL TEST: New York is an “implied consent” state, so if you are pulled over by a police officer, the authorities have the presumption of consent to any impairment testing. If you refuse testing, your license may be automatically revoked for at least one year, without being permitted to obtain a conditional license.
Criminal issues related to drunk driving fatalities
If you are charged with drunk driving involving an accident that causes the injury or the death of another, you may be charged with manslaughter, vehicular assault or vehicular manslaughter. Penalties for these crimes may be compounded if you have had other alcohol or drug-related driving offenses in the past, or if you committed a serious traffic violation at the time of the accident.
Speak with an experienced DWI lawyer in Suffolk County today
If you need dependable guidance and advice after your DUI or DWI arrest, contact Reynolds, Caronia, Gianelli & La Pinta, P.C.. We offer free initial consultations. Call our office at 631-231-1199 or contact us online. Our office is centrally located off of the Long Island Expressway. We have been serving Long Islanders for over 30 years.
Se habla español ● We speak Spanish
Si parla italiano ● We speak Italian